A topnotch WordPress.com site

A Murder of Crows

asthecrowfliesdsc_0383-b

“A murder of Crows” was on Nature tonight that has rekindled my interest in photographing.
A Murder of Crows
One of the world’s most intelligent creatures is highlighted: the crow. The “feathered apes,” as one researcher calls them, possess a sophisticated language of 250 calls and at least two dialects. They also can recognize (and remember) human faces.
DURATION: 60 MIN
DETAILS: [HD] | [CC] [STEREO] [ED TAPING RIGHTS: 1 YEAR]

http://www.pbs.org/wnet/nature/episodes/a-murder-of-crows/full-episode/5977/

My collection to date follows.

crow-e-b

thecrowandfrenchfry-b

dscn4890-b

dscn0005-edit-rt6crows-b

eagledsc_0048-edit-b

dsc_0926-edit-2b

dsc_0033-edTraskCrow

dsc_0508-edit-b

dsc_0139-edit-b

DSC_0470 edit 22222b

DSCN0176 edit FIX b

DSC_0331 edit b

autumnwesdsc_0127-b

DSC_0100 edit 22b

DSC_0702crow b

Panorama 2 edit 2222b

 

crow-5

 

9 responses

  1. J Moser

    What a great series!

    February 20, 2013 at 10:52 pm

  2. GONE TO THE BIRDS 101, Hey haven’t gotten the picture I want, but that’s half the fun :

    February 20, 2013 at 11:30 pm

  3. Thought you’d might like to check out this photographer, he’s mastered some techniques I feel might support some of your visual goals: http://johnreuter.com/blog/

    February 21, 2013 at 10:14 pm

  4. Beautiful! I don’t lack of idea’s and am constantly learning technique. Your photos had a great vibe is there a link to something of recent? I have a feeling you may be near area’s with Spanish Moss. Photograph some for me and I’ll post it.

    …or better yet a Crow with Spanish moss, chuckle.

    February 21, 2013 at 11:30 pm

  5. March 4, 2013 at 4:04 pm

  6. Well now Crow Jane don’t make no sense to me
    She left me hanging from the papa tree
    No I never ever felt so free
    Look at, mama, what you’re doin’ to me
    Cuz it ain’t no difference which way I smile
    I ain’t good lookin’ froma quarter mile
    Once had a women called me angel child
    My reputation keeps me on track

    But who’s gonna save me from myself
    Gotta lay the blame on someone else
    Somehow I ain’t got no hope
    Cuz I’m still runnin’ from the sheriff’s rope
    My shoes don’t fit me cuz they filled with do(ugh/pe?)
    Crow Jane quit me and I just can’t cope
    But all I know is that I’ll still run
    And pledge allegience to the settin’ sun
    I must’ve lost miss Crow Jane
    I’ll never learn from anything I’ve done

    Crow Jane’s the strangest thing that ever talked
    Lips of honey but of tongues of chalk
    They may be crooked but sure can walk
    Took my money left me in shock
    Got so many matches that it makes me sick
    So many habits that I just can’t kick
    So many women that I just can’t trick
    She burnt like a candle stick

    But who’s gonna save me from myself?
    Gotta lay the blame on somebody else
    But somehow I ain’t got no hope
    Cuz I’m still runnin’ from the sheriff’s rope
    My shoes don’t fit me cuz they filled with do(ugh/pe?)
    Crow Jane quit me and I just can’t cope
    But all I know is that I’ll still run
    And pledge allegience to the settin’ sun
    I mustlve lost miss Crow Jane
    I’ll never learn from anything I’ve done

    Well Crow Jane ain’t nothing but a painful case
    She left me sucking on my own disgrace
    She’s off trucking at a cheatin’ pace
    And a lawless life is all that I can embrace
    Dress like a preacher so I can’t be found
    Chase Crow Jane from town to town
    I smell her brain so she much be around
    Just like my pain the sun goes down

    But who’s gonna save me from myself
    Gotta lay the blame on someone else
    Somehow I ain’t got no hope
    Cuz I’m still runnin’ from the sheriff’s rope
    My shoes don’t fit me cuz they filled with do(ugh/pe?)
    Crow Jane quit me and I just can’t cope
    But all I know is that I’ll still run
    And pledge allegience to the settin’ sun
    I must’ve lost miss Crow Jane
    I’ll never learn from anything I’ve done

    March 4, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    • Of course the superstitious are making more out of this : “Pope Francis is AntiChrist proof Birds attack peace doves freed from Pope Francis’ window | Birds of pray: Doves released in the Vatican as a gesture of peace are immediately ATTACKED by vicious seagull and crows
      Two white doves released by children standing alongside Pope Francis as a peace gesture today were attacked by other birds.”

      Of course releasing birds can be tricky with predators around. Every time I’ve witness doves being released has been strange except during Paul Pasquale’s native american dedication of Connecticut Sculpture.

      January 26, 2014 at 7:42 pm

      • January 26, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Leave a Reply

