A topnotch WordPress.com site

360

DSC_0152 edit 360

A Crane did a complete 360 around me on the pipeline this morning and combined 2 great shots of it. Not bad for a Nikon D3000 and a 200mm completely manual Nikon lens from the 70’s!

DSCN5204 edit crow360 b

DSC_0056 edit 22hawk b

My Jay friends alerted me to a Hawk in our tree St. Paddy’s Day.

Untitled_Panorama paddydaycrow b

St. Paddy’s Day Crow

DSC_0010 edit jay

Outside our home I have a flock of buddy’s, a Cardinal, Mocking bird, Chickadee, and Blue Jay. They would probably eat out of my hand if it wasn’t for our three cats.

 

DSC_0023 maplebud b

This stuff always does me in during the Spring. I heard this past week as you age some allergies subside. It would be nice since I never had any problems until this past decade.

 

2 responses

  1. oh wow. that is a crazy heron shot indeed. jealous of that lens!

    March 18, 2013 at 8:40 am

    • I’m afraid my batting average for good photographs is down using this lens and without the autofocus, and speed of the birds it’s dicey. Even though my zoom lens f-stop isn’t as low as I would like, it is listed on Nikon’s 10 best which shocked me : http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/10-best.htm

      Here is some more photo geek stuff that is useful.

      “Any good modern lens is corrected for maximum definition at the larger stops. Using a small stop only increases depth; beyond a certain point definition is actually impaired” Ansel Adams, June 3, 1937

      Ask a National Geographic photographer how to take a great shot and they will reply “f8 and be there.”

      p.s. Joanna I really love your poetry and photographs!

      March 19, 2013 at 8:48 pm

Leave a Reply

