A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rockfalls estate / Edward Durrell Stone

rockfallspano 0b
Street view :

“I come out of my front door every day and say, Thank you, God, for I’ve got everything I’ve ever dreamed of having.”
-Haigh Jamgochian

“Around 1937 – The W. T. Holt House, aka Rockfalls Estate, Longview and Rockfalls Drive, Richmond VA. The land also included a rock quarry. Based on the 1936 Colliers Magazine Model House. In 1968, architect Haigh Jamgochian purchased the lot and buildings and he and his then-wife opened a Montessori-type school, outfitting the home with classrooms. It operated for one year. There was an extensive fire in 1983 in which Jamgochian was badly burned. As of 2011, the house appears uninhabitable. There is also a Civil War-era cottage on the property.”

http://trianglemodernisthouses.com/stone.htm

rockfallsestatePanorama  00 b

 

rockfallshousepanoback 3b

This place is a BEAUTY! I really hope it doesn’t end up like Pratt’s Castle or the land sub-divided. I did a dozen panorama’s that are pending……………..

rockfalls1 pano back c

 

rfe Panorama 9 edit b

rfe Panorama 10 edit b

rfe Panorama 12 edit b

rockfallsidepano edit 2b

rfe Panorama 14 edit b

Returned to photographed the front April 2nd early morning and sun was shooting back at me from the front window like a bullet. The land surrounding the main house is like an old friends studio that the work is still in process. You feel a man’s lifetime journey that was constant. Evident that the journey was more important than the finish. I’ve always strive for a National Park feel where ever I have lived and having frozen shoulder has helped it along a little faster than usual. I lost the last of my older relatives last year, pier to my parents, that told me of her fondness for Haigh and had I ever seen Rockfalls? It’s been a privileged to photograph and I left today overwhelmed with emotion and in a daze.

1 pano edit 2222b

3 pano edit 22 b

9 responses

  1. Meredith Barnes

    Loving the effect on the second shot 🙂

    March 28, 2013 at 4:30 pm

    • It’s called tilt-shift effect, which can be done with a tilt shift lens or with software. Man Ray was always a major influence for me and I always loved all the trick manipulation’s in the darkroom. Being able to do this with a machine is like being in a candy store for me.

      March 28, 2013 at 8:09 pm

  2. The Markel Building that Haigh designed was a muse for me when first learning digital photography :

    April 2, 2013 at 8:55 pm

  3. David Jamaes

    After the first picture, are the other photos of Haigh’s house? Years ago I filmed there but don’t remember the modern house. I do remember when he had a sledgehammer out the window of that round building in Willow Lawn when he proceeded to bang the aluminum.

    April 17, 2013 at 8:41 am

  4. The rock part of the house is his addition, very unique. All the same house except the cottage picture.

    April 17, 2013 at 1:00 pm

  5. Jon

    Nice work, thank you for posting these pics — I hope to see this house fully renovated some day.

    April 21, 2013 at 11:04 am

  6. I hope someone renovates it. What a great artist retreat it could be !

    May 5, 2013 at 12:20 pm

  7. Robin Davis

    I remember this house back in it’s glory days! Jam and I have been friends for quite some time. Your pictures show the grounds a little more orderly than the last time I was there. What most folks in Richmond do not know is that Jam is on the Autism Spectrum, Asperger’s to be precise. He truly was a visionary and is one of a kind! Love him dearly….

    February 27, 2016 at 12:41 am

  8. Thinking tonight about Haigh, our family’s long-time friend since his days at VPI (Virginia Tech) and came across this blog. I loved being with and around him when I was a kid. Wanted to know if anyone knows how to get in touch with him as I have lost track of him since his move (as I learned from this evening’s research) to a “retirement home.”

    May 5, 2016 at 1:42 am

Leave a Reply

