A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhododendron viscosum (Swamp Azalea)

DSC_0623 edit 22b

“swamp azalea – shrub growing in swamps throughout the eastern United States and having small white to pinkish flowers resembling honeysuckle.”

DSC_0409 edit 2fix b

http://otway.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/swamp-azalea/

http://otway.wordpress.com/2011/04/10/swamp-azalea-2/

http://otway.wordpress.com/2011/04/12/swamp-azalea-3/

DSC_0401 edit 2b

This and the Indian Paint Brush I can’t photograph enough during their season. Below is a pine I planted in our yard decades ago.

DSC_0476 edit 2b

DSC_0471 edit 2b

DSC_0538 edit 222b

6 responses

  1. J Moser

    Nice photos, but I must know whether the bumble bee was there when the shutter opened, or has been added into the photo. If it was there when you took the picture, that is pretty amazing. Otherwise, it’s still good seamless photoshopping.

    April 17, 2013 at 11:55 am

    • These were all done with the 200mm I have on loan from you and was inspired by this woman that I noticed exhibit of photographs at the U.S. Botanic Garden.

      http://www.baileylabovitz.com/jblportfolio/home.html

      In answer to your question Arthur has shown me how to double stack, etc. (which seems to be the flavor of the month) that I have used here that sort of defeats this woman’s style but is a useful parlor trick to know now. Want to get back and get some more purist photo’s though. Have also been considering using “lightroom” and that maybe my stuff with too much color is tiresome?

      April 17, 2013 at 12:45 pm

  2. J Moser

    Well, you all have got something on me. I do OK without help from my photo pals, but when I look up “double stacking” I get links to gun websites and the urban dictionary, where the definition is beyond repulsive (look it up). Maybe somebody will enlighten me on the latest parlor trick sometime. Meanwhile, I see the next edition of Photoshop will have a tool to remove blur and camera shake from photos.

    April 17, 2013 at 1:48 pm

    • Focus stacking (also known as focal plane merging and z-stacking), “sorry I must have been thinking about hamburgers?” I’d been doing this with layers sometimes manually but our local photography teacher explained for me just over the phone in minutes. Although the book matching we do I prefer to still do old school, this has promise for other uses.

      April 17, 2013 at 2:01 pm

  3. J Moser

    Oh, nevermind. I found it by searching “focus stacking.”

    April 17, 2013 at 1:57 pm

  4. NICE!!

    April 17, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Leave a Reply

