A topnotch WordPress.com site

Image

BLUE #7

DSC_0023 edit222fix222x b

5 responses

  1. J Moser

    Not that there’s anything wrong with grain, but you could get rid of it by “opening as camera raw” and getting access to a whole new menu of options that you don’t see inside Photoshop. But you already knew that.

    April 28, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    • I’ve been shooting at 400 asa to catch the birds in flight in the manual mode at f8, reminds me of the old tri-x days when I embraced the grain then also. Currently I don’t have the storage for RAW files and am seriously lacking RAM. Good thing I’m an artist instead of a photographer, chuckle. Someday maybe I’ll be blessed enough to be just using Adobe Light room with RAW files and a more purist image. This was 3 layers and just an idea with the funky bird photo. Still haven’t corrected the bee and jasmine photo. Rough-cuts Galore!

      There’s much I don’t know! and welcome enlightenment!

      April 28, 2013 at 8:14 pm

      • oops a daisy!

        maybe 5 layers, I lose count when on a coffee session in the morning.

        400 ISO, I suppose asa is old school also?

        April 28, 2013 at 8:19 pm

  2. J Moser

    I think the grain looks great, was only mentioning the option to “open as” (it’s under the Photoshop file menu) because it gives you access to the camera raw options without having to have a raw file, and I only learned this recently. Now I use it all the time on old jpgs that I didn’t shoot in raw mode. But you knew that already. I’ve been shooting at F8 a lot lately also. And focus stacking. The parlor is so full of tricks there’s no room to sit down.

    April 28, 2013 at 10:52 pm

    • White levels too???

      The hell with Light room, but I do enjoy learning new software. BigK and I were looking at Poser a week ago and it is unreal now. Would like to turn people photos into avatars, it’s all kind of surreal. We toyed with Bryce years ago making fake landscapes. I enjoy it all but still really enjoy comics and traditional sketching.

      There’s a digital statue of Jefferson at the State Capital now that I’m not sure what I feel about and they won the Virginia Woman’s Monument that is pending. Check it out : http://www.studioeis.com/

      I couldn’t help in fudging a photo of it : https://o3bigpicture.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/dsc_0078httpwww-studioeis.jpg

      April 28, 2013 at 11:57 pm

Leave a Reply

