A topnotch WordPress.com site

Déjà vu

DSC_0856 edit 2b

This is the way I shot and printed in the darkroom between 1971 to 76. I had a old beaten up Nikon that half worked right and a passion to create. It’s hard to keep up with the technology today, let alone the cost, so I find myself again shooting all manual with a fixed 200mm lens not made for low light. BIG Thanks for letting me photograph period! I told Khalima to find a photographer with a full sensor camera to shoot in the light for the student show this year. These women deserve better than I’m able to shoot these days. When I was young you would be lucky if you saw a belly dancer at a food festival which was rare. Dogtown Dance is a treasure!

DSC_0444 edit b

DSC_0643 edit 22b

DSC_0457 edit b

DSC_0096 edit b

DSC_0278 edit b

DSC_0497 edit b

DSC_0198 edit b

DSC_0578 edit b

DSC_0542 edit b

DSC_0485 edit b

DSC_0109 edit b

 

Student show 2013

 

8 responses

  1. Meredith Barnes

    Nice!! I recognize some of those folks 😉

    June 30, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    • Thanks Meredith, most people don’t know you can use the vintage Nikon lens in manual settings. It’s old school but fun, yet you flub a lot of shots guessing the aperture, shutter speed and iso. My iso max’s at 1600 then Hi 1 with a ton of noise and why I shot in monotone. It has brought back some old memories though shooting this way.

      Here is some Nikon geek information that may interest you of what’s needed shooting in this low light :

      AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED

      High-performance, high-speed telephoto zoom is a superb choice for sports and portraits, even in challenging lighting conditions.

      Note! AF not supported by D40, D60, D3000, D3100 & D5000 cameras

      Superb Telephoto-zoom lens for sports and nature photography.
      It has 3 Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements for high resolution and high contrast even at maximum apertures.
      Maintains fast f/2.8 aperture throughout zoom range.

      The D7000 is Nikon’s most advanced camera at any price. The fact that it sells for under $1,000 in 2012 make it a no-brainer, which is why it’s sold out. The D7000 is Nikon’s best DSLR ever.

      http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d7000.htm

      June 30, 2013 at 5:04 pm

      • Meredith Barnes

        Good info! The only thing I don’t like about my D40 is that not every lens works with it. I need to learn more about the whole aperture/shutter/ISO correlation for sure…

        July 2, 2013 at 3:15 pm

  2. WOW. You are a very talented photographer, these are beautiful. Definitely bookmarking your blog!

    June 30, 2013 at 4:54 pm

  3. Barry Bless

    Wonderful Otway!

    June 30, 2013 at 5:19 pm

  4. Great pix! The one of Ann is just gorgeous, as are several others. You did a good job with the challenging lighting — these really look good.

    June 30, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    • Tried really hard with everyone and may have more. I hope people realize it’s nothing personal if I didn’t get a good picture of them. I’m not going to post just anything. The latest series Heather did of you is really incredible so I don’t feel so guilty for flubbing your shots. My eyeglasses make manual focus dicey these days.

      June 30, 2013 at 7:44 pm

  5. My wife and I have been cat people forever, just saw this cool dance commercial. I use to mambo and now I’ll occasionally dance with our cats so this hits home, chuckle :

    July 1, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Leave a Reply

