A topnotch WordPress.com site

old school

DSC_0564 edit 33b

I get a chuckle when I hear young people (strangers) regard me as “old school” in passing on the street. The last month I have felt a bit of tunnel vision from shooting with a SOLIGAR AUTO ZOOM 70-222mm F:3.5 (circa 1979). These older lens you have to shoot totally manual on the digital cameras and to say the least a challenge. It doesn’t seem to be as sharp as the nikon 200mm I’ve been using the past year but it does have a quality that makes the image as if it’s film rather than digital. These are more test shots and hopefully next week I’ll find out how good it will perform on a event……… Below is my wife’s favorite bird the “Thrasher”

DSC_0264 e222eb

BINGO : After only having this lens less than 20 days I’m in the zone, photos below

DSC_0276 edit b

DSC_0156 edit b

DSC_0088 edit b

DSC_0017 downy woodpecker b

4 responses

  1. “Any good modern lens is corrected for maximum definition at the larger stops. Using a small stop only increases depth…” Ansel Adams, June 3, 1937, in a reply to Edward Weston’s request for lens suggestions, page 244 of Ansel’s autobiography. Ansel was telling him to stop worrying about lens sharpness, since all the ones he was considering were sharp. This was the 1930s. Today even crappy lenses, including plastic lenses on most disposable cameras, are sharp when used properly.

    http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/lens-sharpness.htm

    February 23, 2014 at 9:38 am

  2. Spent all Sunday afternoon sitting in the backyard photographing tiny birds. The phrase “cameras, are sharp when used properly” really made me turn a notch up. It turned out I was slightly off on the viewfinder adjustment for my Mr. Magoo glasses.

    February 23, 2014 at 5:04 pm

    • J Moser

      I had the idea that the whole thing might have to do with the viewfinder adjustment.

      February 23, 2014 at 5:07 pm

      • Re : Magoo eye site, in a way I’m appreciative I can’t afford the new lens. Manual focus is making me aware of the state of my eye site and any success with getting a great photograph is hard earned. In other words character building.

        I never thought my GP would have me on more Rx drugs than I ever did during the 70’s and I would have to wear some plastic teeth. Jeez, if these kids bold enough on the street to call me “old School” only knew. That’s the chuckle I get, if they are only lucky enough to find out themselves.

        Incredible photos pending for this year I hope and I only paid 50 bucks for the 1979 lens. That was a wonderful year I experienced “way back when”!

        February 24, 2014 at 11:51 am

Leave a Reply

