A topnotch WordPress.com site

16:9 Frida

DSCN8030 test 6b

I was horsing around with my snapshot camera that I love has a 16:9 aspect ratio picture mode. The standard for broadcasting today. A portrait of Frida (named after Frida Kahlo) our cat enjoying a vintage oriental rug that she really, really loves. Not really news worthy but I have high hopes for the future of Amanda our local morning anchor that I documented shooting 16:9 at our 16:9 HDTV.

The only thing I know is that I paint because I need to, and I paint whatever passes through my head without any other consideration.
_Frida Kahlo

2 responses

  1. The standard aspect ratio for laptops these days is 16:9. (MacBooks are 16:10.)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Display_resolution

    September 13, 2014 at 8:16 pm

  2. I read in the Wall Street Journal today the best chefs in America during the 1920’s-30’s were on trains, that I found interesting.

    Aspect ratio to surrealism, what a full day!

    – I have always been amazed at the way an ordinary observer lends so much more credence and attaches so much more importance to waking events than to those occurring in dreams. It is because man, when he ceases to sleep, is above all the plaything of his memory, and in its normal state memory takes pleasure in weakly retracing for him the circumstances of the dream, in stripping it of any real importance, and in dismissing the only determinant from the point where he thinks he has left it a few hours before: this firm hope, this concern. He is under the impression of continuing something that is worthwhile. Thus the dream finds itself reduced to a mere parenthesis, as is the night. And, like the night, dreams generally contribute little to furthering our understanding. This curious state of affairs seems to me to call for certain reflections.
    * artist quote on the role of dream and the night, taken from ‘Manifesto du Surréalisme’, Andre Breton, 1924

    September 13, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Leave a Reply

