A topnotch WordPress.com site

the GARDEN

Untitled_Panorama garden 333b

While working 14 days straight I was able to take a few photographs, my favorite local garden and a beautiful oil portrait from a private collection that I tried to find out more about using a reverse image search : https://www.tineye.com

I had no luck with this incredible portrait.

DSCN4374 edit b

 

DSC_0318 edit townsend
/2013/12/
Detail of an early 19th century oil portrait (private collection) framed by water from a pool. Another unknown oil work that I really like.

below : some pieces at the VMFA that I liked!

 

dsc_0215-edit-b
Between seventy-five and eighty copies of the original “porthole” portrait of Washington exist, with slight variations. Peale justified the many replicas by claiming that, as the only living painter who had seen Washington, “the reduplication of [my] work, by [my] own hand, should be esteemed the most reliable.”

Untitled_Panorama1 edit 2b

photographed : January 4, 2013

The Lalla Essaydi photograph blew me away, which I have used here in a collage with a plaster copy Egyptian relief that the museum has had for years.
“Lalla Essaydi (Moroccan, b.1956) is a painter and photographer. Her work focuses on the Arab female identity in a 19th-century Orientalist style. She is well-known for hand-drawn Arabic calligraphy paintings done with henna on different types of surfaces, such as fabric, bodies, and even walls.”

http://lallaessaydi.com/

Leave a Reply

